Rape and Incest don’t change my stance on abortion

By now it seems that most topics about abortion have been discussed ad nauseam, but a recent question directed towards me has enthralled me to give my two cents on a subject that is often dodged by those who claim to be pro life. I will try, in the best way that a 21 year old Christian conservative can, to explain why I don’t believe in abortion and why, even if you don’t agree with me, I’m not crazy. Rape and Incest are both detestable, vile, horrid, and cruel. They are all of these things, but they aren’t a pass for abortion. They Just aren’t. Life is life. Life is precious.

First, let us cover the topic of incest, as I think it is the easiest to dismiss. I have a hard time with this question because I don’t really see a difference between an incest abortion and a “regular” one. You know, as regular as infanticide can be. If it is a consensual sexual act, then it is a consensual sexual act. If one would mean to imply rape of incest variety, then I’d say rape is rape and there is no need to distinguish the two. But let’s say someone means the former.  They think babies made through incest, as opposed to the alternative, deserve more consideration to be killed than the other. I’d ask what your reasoning is. Why? Why should THAT baby die, and not one between a traditional couple? I hope you’re not delving into the deepest pits of all disparity and claiming that the baby could be born with birth defects and you are just going to kill it based on some reasonable chance that you think it wont have as high quality of life as you. Really? Seriously? Are we going there? I guess we are.

First of all, who makes that standard and what is it? How deformed is too deformed? I’ll listen… Secondly, statistics show that babies born in the projects are more inclined to be drug addicts. Do we put down all of those poor babies because they won’t have as good of a life as their rich counterpart? Never. I have seen, time and time again, that even if a child does have special needs that they can be a part of a loving family and contribute to the betterment of society. So if you are in the “mercy killing” camp and you are reading this then I have nothing more to say to you because you are insane and can’t be reasoned with. Just admit that it is a convenient economical decision for you or that you are too embarrassed to give birth to your son/daughter/niece/nephew hybrid. (Which I still deem to be precious life given out by God)

Rape. It’s bad. Horrible. I can’t really think of a word bad enough to describe it. It makes me sick just thinking about it. Rape victims should be given all of the compassion, mercy, love, and care in the world. Society should constantly seek ways to contribute to their gaining back a life of normalcy. However, if rape results in one becoming pregnant… The baby deserves all of those things as well. It deserves a chance to rise above his or her origin story. The baby deserves a shot at redemption, the most incredible stories ever told. The baby deserves to be loved, cherished, cared for, and raised. Sure, I can see where a mother would have a hard time looking at it every day. I understand that. But humans are overcomers. We prevail, time and time again. To give up is to dehumanize yourself. I would beg and plead that any mother in that situation just give the baby a chance. If you fall in the crowd that has already had an abortion, then I will say that I don’t condemn you. I don’t hate you. I wish you the best, and that is found in the great power of Christ. He alone can make you whole. You are not, as I was not, past the point of redemption. Like I said earlier, those are the best stories.

But you are not a woman so you don’t know what it is like! Well, according to liberals and pop culture, I can be a woman any time I choose, therefore giving me the right to opine on your behalf. But, that is too easy. I won’t go there. My not being a female doesn’t cloud my judgment on what is right and wrong. Just because I am not you, doesn’t mean I can’t think something you are doing is wrong. If that were the case, then how dare you accuse male rapists for doing something wrong. YOU AREN’T A MALE! YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT IT IS LIKE! YOU DON’T HAVE OVARIES! YOU DON’T HAVE A PENIS! See where this goes? Nowhere. You’ll have to come up with a more compelling argument than that.

Oh yeah? Well you can’t legislate morality! Hmpf! Wrong. If you had said one can’t “enforce” morality then I would agree, but words mean things. What do you think laws are? They are the codification of morality. Society, as a whole, has deemed certain things to be right and wrong, they were codified, they are now laws. I agree that we can’t “enforce” it, though. Here is the difference: “Legislating” morality puts up a stop light, “enforcing” morality puts an agent in the back seat of your car who threatens to shoot you if you move before the light turns green. Abortions should be illegal, but I don’t believe a government official should follow you around for your entire pregnancy to ensure you don’t do anything crazy. You have the option to run the red lights, as you would the option to have an abortion. The penalty of getting caught for the former is a ticket, and the latter is a murder charge.

If somehow you still aren’t convinced, let me take my final swing. There is a psychological tendency for humans to perpetuat,. especially when wronged. Kids who are bullied tend to bully, abusive parents can cause their offspring to abuse their kids, and a kid of divorced parents is more likely to get divorced. We see this and we know that the causes don’t warrant the perpetuation of pain. It isn’t beyond reason to suggest that someone get counseling for these things in order to correct their behavior going forward. We can all agree on that, right? Hold on to that, it’s important. Now, let us examine the very core of rape. What is the root of evil hidden in the putrid act of rape. I would say it’s the “forcing of something harmful onto a none consenting party that has no reasonable means to defend itself”. That’s why we hate it. When someone stronger is bullying someone weaker, what the heck are they supposed to do?! It brews from the same angst you feel when you see a kid get pushed on the playground. By no means am I equating the severity of the two, rather the core issue. So, when a lady is “forced to do something harmful that she doesn’t consent to and has no reasonable means to defend herself” it is totally reasonable for her to be upset. To feel vulnerable. Angry. Sorrowful. All of those are to be expected. She is then, in turn, to be loved and cared for. Brought through the valley to the point of restoration. Encouraged to find redemption. This is important to do so she does not then perpetuate the act of “forcing something harmful onto a none consenting party that has no reasonable means to defend itself” by getting an abortion. The cause does not justify the perpetuation of pain onto an innocent victim and one would not be crazy to suggest they seek counseling to help. Remember that? I said it would be important.

So there you have it. Disagree all you want, but you can’t call me crazy. As I am human, I may have left a topic out. Feel free to comment and ask me further. If you ,or someone you know, are thinking about abortion I’d beg you to reconsider and to pray to seek counsel. There are online resources to help with the logistics and go to your nearest “legitimate” church to seek help with the rest. If you are a local, then I’d suggest one of LifePoint’s three campuses in Smyrna, Stewarts Creek, or Murfreesboro. Lastly, if you have had an abortion at any time in the past, please know you are still loved by Christ and He will never forsake you. Anyone who says otherwise is spewing the cruelest form of heresy. I am but a simple man who likes to opine. Live well.

10 thoughts on “Rape and Incest don’t change my stance on abortion

  1. sstrong2009 says:

    You definitely make a compelling argument. I never understood why incest was grouped in with rape if its consensual. Why kill the child if you allowed the pregnancy to happen in the first place? Deformities are no reason for abortion either since humans have the capability of overcoming their personal dilemmas. If the child is suffering for any reason though because of a deformity/disease or is even killing the mother (which is rare but can happen), that’s where I find it completely understandable if the mother chooses to abort.
    Rape however? That’s a touchy subject. Any mothers out there who decide to continue the pregnancy after experiencing such a heinous crime and even decide to raise the child, I have the utmost respect for. I don’t think I could do it personally. MAYBE give birth to the baby at least and give it up for adoption, but that’s it. Everyone handles trauma differently, and some women just cant handle it well. Unless you’ve personally experienced rape/molestation, it’s difficult if not Impossible to imagine what they are going through psychologically. What if a woman is in an extreme situation in which she is continuosly raped by the same person and becomes repeatedly impregnated? Should she endure each pregnancy? Can you imagine what that would do to her psyche? Everyone has a breaking point. Whereas I wouldn’t encourage her to get an abortion, I wouldn’t encourage to keep/raise the children either.
    So again, in those types of situations Id say, yes, get counseling before making a final decision. Either way I wouldn’t condemn her and I don’t think God would either.
    I say all this in a non hostile way. I just thought I’d put in my two cents on the topic, and I definitely enjoyed your article.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 1) Congrats on being my first comment!
      2) Thanks for the encouragement
      3) I’ll try to answer your questions in order:
      1. I’d say it’s tragic and I can’t begin to understand the pain. I do, however, believe that child is still precious and deserves a chance. My faith tells me that God has a plan for even the darkest of evils to still hold hope and goodness. As for someone without religious ties, I’d say the child did nothing wrong and should, at worst, be given up for adoption to a loving family.
      2. She should. Again, society should go out of its way to love, care for, and help her. She should get the benefit of every doubt and have all of her needs met, but the baby still deserves a chance.
      3. I can’t imagine that, no. I just don’t think that justifies abortion.

      I’m typing this from my phone so I apologize if this comes across as sloppy or incoherent. You did raise some good questions. I may revisit this with a second part if I can justify making a sizeable piece out of this. I can’t stress enough that I do not inherently hate women who get abortions, I just hate abortions. God still loves them, and that is the Truth. Thank you! Live well.

      Like

  2. Dana says:

    Honestly, a 21 year old boy with (I’m going out on a limb here) little to no experience in life, let alone any real world experience spent with rape and incest victims or spent significant time in t a foster care group home where these children end up, carries about as much credence as my 2 year old giving me advice about the stock market.

    I’m actually pro life myself, but your immature ramblings and rhetorical questions are so condescending to the reader, you have actually turned me pro choice. Maybe as you age, you will find a humility in your voice that will not sound as if you are having a conversation with a whiny brat (supposedly your reading audience). Liberals have allowed you to choose when you “want” to be a woman on a whim….no, hopefully society as a whole (not liberals or conservatives) are learning to allow people to be whom they truly believe God has made them….but I’m getting off on one of your side rants that have nothing to do with abortion, so I’ll get back on topic.

    I find your tone “hold onto that” and “let me deliver my last punch” to be so infantile I can hardly get past it to read your message. Like I said, maybe your tone will improve with age and life experience. Be careful of what you preach at age 21. You find your opinions changing as you get older or at least maturing and having something like this written for all to see may very well embarrass you. I am currently embarrassed for you.

    Like

    • Jarrod says:

      Dana,

      Hello, how are you? Not well, I presume. I say that because it appears that you have lost sight of what is important here. Namely, your two year old who has, not only developed a proficiency in his/her speech (the gender wasn’t mentioned, so I didn’t know which pronoun to use. I imagine that you have not yet told anyone his/her gender yet, as you want to give him/her enough time to decide whether or not his/her vagina/penis was a mistake from the almost omnipotent, almost omniscient God that haphazardly created him/her), but has developed the MENTAL CAPACITY TO UNDERSTAND AND DISCUSS STOCKS. Wow! Sure, you’re right, maybe she isn’t the foremost authority on the subject at two years old; I don’t doubt that. But she tried to give you advice about stocks! That’s impressive! I have a two year old nephew (I helped changed his diaper once and he had a penis, so, for the time being, I refer to him as a he. I’ll allow him to decide what he believes the God of the universe intended for his gender to be).

      Wait, pause. Stop. I just had a mind bomb go off when I was telling you that my nephew will one day know God’s anatomical intention for himself better than the God that created him. What if you applied your logic in regards to your two year old giving you stock advice to the transgender debate. Would we (finite human beings) not be, at best, the two year old’s giving stock advice to our parents (who in this analogy is God, the infinite creator of the universe)? How would a 30/40/50/90/100/10,000 year old, finite, human being that has a definite beginning, be any more qualified to tell their Creator what His intention for their gender/sexuality is than a two year old giving stock advice? Just some food for thought.

      Anyways, I was helping change his diaper and all he could say was “Thomas!” and “Stinky! Right, Uncle J?” Pretty normal two year old stuff. But not your child. No. YOUR TWO YEAR OLD IS TALKING TO YOU ABOUT STOCKS. STOCKS!! That’s so cool! I’d say (s)he has a bright future ahead of him/her and that you should prepare for an early retirement.

      Well, that’s my two cents. I’m just a silly little twenty-three year year old with (you guessed it!) “little to no experience in life, let alone any real world experience”. Although I do have some experience with rape victims and children raised in foster care. Oh, and prison babies. Oh! And children of abusive parents. *gasp* Maybe my twenty-threeyears have provided me with at least a moderate level of real world experience.

      Cheers.

      P.S. Were you really pro-life before this blog and pro-choice after? That seems AWFULLY fickle to let one blog post change your stance on something so serious.

      Like

    • Conner McAnally says:

      I personally avoid taking advice from people who change their beliefs because of somebody’s tone. Did my tone just make you flip flop again?

      Like

      • Dana says:

        Isn’t the purpose of your blog to make people question and change their views. Isn’t that what you are trying to do here?

        Like

      • Dana says:

        Having a fluid opinion open to learning (from reading, discussion and life’s experiences) is far wiser then believing you know everything that is “right” in your early twenties.

        Like

      • That’s not me. I’m Cameron McAnally. That’s Conner Mcanally. I said I’d have your reply types up by tonight.

        Like

  3. laylabelle08 says:

    First, I’d like to start off by saying well done. Not many 20 something’s are willing or able to debate this with such emotion and vigor. Now on to my stance.

    I have many ways to go about this topic and will do so leaving my personal stance for last.

    Let’s talk about resources first.
    You speak of babies born into certain types of families i.e. Abusive,drugged, and gangs that inevitably begat the former. If, by your standards everyone of the babies that was aborted last year in these areas was born then eventually the prison population will grow leaving the rest of us to provide for them. And I don’t feel I should be made to provide 3 hits and a cot for some looser who’s in prison for beating his wife, selling drugs, murder, and I could go on but I think you get my point.

    You say these babies born to mothers who didn’t want them and people can adopt them. True. That can happen, however, the number do not support your theory. It is extremely difficult and costly for people who want to adopt to do so and sometimes they get almost there and some robed fella says no sorry maybe next time. Child goes back to where he was. Would be parents go back to being sad. You see where I’m going with this.

    Let’s actually talk about incest and rape now and my last soapbox.

    You talk about incest as if you have a choice. Shame on you. A child cannot say yes to an act that they don’t understand. And it usually starts as child molestation. There are 10 year olds getting pregnant by their fathers, brothers, and uncles and no not all the babies will have disabilities or be deformed but a 10 year old body is just not ready for every change that will take place nor should it be. This 10 year old should be playing babies with the girl down the street not learning to breastfeed at 2 am to feed a child she had no business having.

    Deformities and disabilities are something that can happen to anybody. Take me for example I had a terminally ill child and in his diagnosis we were told he will die several times and we can bring him back. He had seizures, lost weight daily, couldn’t eat much, and rarely pooped. He was still my precious. At 10 months of age I laid him down for his nap as usual and he died. We did get a DNR so he wouldn’t have to suffer every time we brought him back for our own wants. No. That’s not a life. That’s an existence. I could tell you another story about my sister but I won’t. You get my point. If I had known that my cold was terminally ill I might had an abortion. My husband at the time and I would have discussed and done what we thought was right.

    Rape. The act in and of itself is deplorable. Someone, male or female, should never force you to do anything you don’t want to do. I was raped 16 years ago. If I had become pregnant from that act I would have definitely had an abortion. I know this. I would have tried to hurt myself or the thing growing within. You cannot address this subject without also addressing self harm and suicide. Imagine, if you will, Someone forcing you to have sex. Then becoming pregnant. Having that child and everyday you are forced to look at that child and its a reminder of that event every single day. You say adoption I remind you of my first part of this debate. I know this is harsh. And some say mean but I couldn’t do it. And I know a bunch of people who side with me on this subject.
    I’ll leave you with this.

    Cruelty comes in many forms. You say it’s cruel to kill babies not yet of this world. I say cruelty is forcing me to do what you want me to do when it damages the other party.

    I disagree with using abortion as a form of birth control.

    I’m not looking to change you or the world. I’m looking to give you a different point of view from someone who’s been there.

    (Sorry for mistakes phine typing sucks)

    Like

Leave a Reply

